Close×

This year's FoodTech Packtech, which takes place in Auckland on 14 April, will be running a series of four online sessions with leading packaging experts from around the globe.

The exhibition is hosted by the Australian Institute of Packaging (AIP), in conjunction with the New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology (NZIFT).

The interactive sessions will cover a broad range of topics, including sustainable packaging, circular design, closed loop programs, and active and intelligent packaging.

The session topics and list of speakers are:

Session 1: The Value Proposition of Active & Intelligent Packaging

9am AEST/11am NZST

  • Nerida Kelton, executive director, AIP
  • Simon Jones, senior vice-president (EMEA and Oceania), EVRYTHNG
  • Michael Dossor, group general manager, Result Group

Session 2: Sustainable Packaging Targets – Global, Trans-Tasman and Local

10am AEST/12pm NZST

  • Professor Pierre Pienaar, president, World Packaging Organisation (WPO)
  • Kelly McClean, sustainable packaging project manager, Food Stuffs NZ
  • Keith Chessell, education team, AIP
  • Richard Manaton, chief operating officer, GS1 NZ 

Session 3: How to implement Sustainable Packaging Design Guidelines into your business and How to Design out Waste

12pm AEST/2pm NZST

  • Ralph Moyle, education coordinator, AIP
  • Ben McCulloch, product manager – marPET, Martogg Group
  • Deanne Holdsworth, general manager of packaging (NZ), Pact Group
  • Alan Adams, sustainability director (APAC), Sealed Air 

Session 4: Reusable and Refillable Packaging

1pm AEST/3pm NZST

  • Nerida Kelton, executive director, AIP
  • Brent Vrdoljak, marketing manager – Home Care, Natures Organics
  • Jean Bailliard, general manager, TerraCycle ANZ 

To register to attend FoodTech PackTech 2021 and the AIP sessions, click here.

Food & Drink Business

Beverage business Lion has announced the resignation of its CEO Stuart Irvine. He was CEO for eight years.

Taste and nutrition company Kerry is set to build a technology and innovation centre of excellence in Queensland. The site will also be the company’s new headquarters for Australia and New Zealand.

Five peak bodies across Australia are urging the ACCC not to greenlight Woolworths Group’s proposed acquisition of PFD Food Services, calling out the retailer’s “track record of anti-competitive behaviour” and citing concern for the potential damage to small businesses in the supply chain.